Categories: News-Premium

Louisiana’s minimum marriage age will start in August

BATON ROUGE, La. (AP) — Louisiana will have a minimum marriage age of 16 starting in August, under a bill signed into law by Gov. John Bel Edwards.

The hard-fought measure by Sen. Yvonne Dorsey Colomb, a Baton Rouge Democrat, was passed in the final hour of the legislative session earlier this month. Edwards signed the legislation without fanfare.

The new law will prohibit anyone under age 16 from getting married, and will prohibit anyone 16 or 17 years old from marrying someone three years or more older. Anyone 16 or 17 years old will need permission from parents and a judge to marry.

Associated Press

Comments are closed.

Recent Posts

  • News-Premium

Webster Parish LEAP scores show growth in education

Every year students grades 3-11 take a test called the Louisiana Educational Assessment Program, more commonly known as the LEAP…

18 hours ago
  • E-Edition

Minden Press-Herald E-Edition 07-23-2019

This is the electronic edition of the Tuesday July 23, 2019 Minden Press-Herald.

18 hours ago
  • News-Premium

Minden High School Cleanup

Minden High students work at school for community service hours On Monday morning, students of Minden High School donated some…

18 hours ago
  • News-Premium

Mississippi River drops enough to begin closing big spillway

NEW ORLEANS (AP) — The Mississippi River is finally low enough again to let the Army Corps of Engineers begin…

18 hours ago
  • News-Premium

Ready to fight, Trump says he’ll watch ‘a little’ of Mueller

NEW YORK (AP) — He won’t watch. Well, maybe just a little bit. President Donald Trump on Monday feigned indifference…

18 hours ago
  • News-Premium

2 killed after Amtrak train hits vehicle in Mississippi

MERIDIAN, Miss. (AP) — A sheriff says two people have been killed after the vehicle they were in was struck…

18 hours ago