Home » Early voting for Nov. 8 election kicks off Tuesday

Early voting for Nov. 8 election kicks off Tuesday

by Minden Press-Herald

Citizens who were registered to vote by Oct. 11 may head to the polls starting next week for early voting.

“I encourage you to become an active and informed voter. As Americans, the constitutional right to vote is one of our most precious rights,” Melanie J. Smith, Webster Parish Registrar of Voters said. “When you participate in the election process, your vote affects your nation, your state, your parish, and your community. Your vote does make a difference.”

Early voting begins Tuesday, Oct. 25 and last through Tuesday, Nov. 1 from 8:30 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Two locations in Webster Parish are available to voters, the Webster Parish Courthouse, 410 Main St. in Minden and Springhill Civic Center, 101 Machen Drive in Springhill.

Both locations will close on Sunday, Oct. 30.

Voters who do not early vote at these locations or send in an official absentee ballot will have a final opportunity on election day Tuesday, Nov. 8.

No candidates signed up for the Shongaloo mayor, three Shongaloo aldermen seats or Constable for Justice of the Peace District 1. The Louisiana Secretary of State will now move to fill those seats.

Unopposed are:
Chief of Police, Town of Sibley, Jeremy Robinson
Mayor, Town of Sarepta, Peggy Adkins
Mayor Town of Sibley, “Jimmy” Williams
Mayor, Village of Dubberly, “W.C.” Hirth
Chief of Police, Cotton Valley, Terry C. Brown (David Pickings was disqualified)
Three aldermen for Dubberly ran unopposed, Johnny Brown, Lynn Cooley and Douglas B. Culpepper.
In Sibley, five aldermen are unopposed, Doyle Chanler, John Langford, Larry Merritt, Alan Myers and Robert Smart.
The following candidates running for office:
President of The United States
Hillary Clinton, Timothy Kaine, Democratic
Jill Stein, Ajamu Baraka Green
Gary Johnson, Bill Weld, Libertarian
Donald Trump, Michael Pence, Republican
Darrell Castle, Scott Bradley, Constitution Party Nominee Other
Evan McMullin, Nathan Johnson, Courage Character Service Other
Laurence Kotlikoff, Edward Lea, It’s Our Children Other
Tom Hoefling, Steve Schulin, Life, Family, Constitution Other
Princess Jacob, Milton Fambro, Loyal Trustworthy Compassion Other
Gloria La Riva, Eugene Puryear, Socialism and Liberation Other
Jerry White, Niles Niemuth, Socialism Equality Anti-War Other
Alyson Kennedy, Osborne Hart, Socialist Workers Party Other
Chris Keniston, Deacon Taylor, Veterans Party Other

U.S. Senate
Beryl Billiot, No Party
Charles Boustany, Republican
Foster Campbell, Democrat
“Joseph” Cao, Republican
Thomas P. Clements, Libertarian
Donald “Crawdaddy” Crawford, Republican
David Duke, Republican
Derrick Edwards, Democrat
Caroline Fayard, Democrat
John Fleming, Republican
Le Roy Gillam, Libertarian
Troy Hebert, No Party
John Kennedy, Republican
Gary Landrieu, Democrat
William Robert “Bob” Lang Jr., Other
“Rob” Maness, Republican
Kaitlin Marone, No Party
Charles Marsala, Republican
MV “Vinny” Mendoza, Democrat
Abhay Patel, Republican
Joshua Pellerin, Democrat
Gregory Taylor Jr., Other
Arden Wells, No Party
Peter Williams, Democrat
U.S. Representative 4th Congressional District
Ralph “Trey” Baucum, Republican
Elbert Guillory, Republican
Mark David Halverson, No Party
Oliver Jenkins, Republican
“Rick” John, Republican
“Mike” Johnson, Republican
Marshall Jones, Democrat
Kenneth J. Krefft, No Party

Judge, Court of Appeal 2nd Circuit, 2nd District, Division C
Jay Caraway, Republican
“Jeff” Cox, Republican

Mayor, Town of Cotton Valley
Joseph Alexander, Democrat
Lynn “Bubba” Guillot, No Party
Comerdis Phillips, Democrat

Mayor, Town of Cullen
Terry “Bippy” Hoof, No Party
“Mr. Gary” Sullivan, Other

Mayor, Village of Dixie Inn
Kay Hallmark-Stratton, No Party
Ava Nell McWhorter, Other

Chief of Police, Town of Cullen
Rosetta Carr Burnett, Democrat
Christopher Lauderdale, Democrat
George Salsberry Jr., No Party

Chief of Police, Town of Sarepta
Richard Downs, No Party
Ted Lewis, Republican
Raymond Moore Jr., No Party

Chief of Police, Dubberly
Joseph Henry, Republican
Charles E. Mims, Democrat

Aldermen, Town of Cotton Valley
C.C. “Cat” Cox, Democrat
James Davidson Sr., No Party
Cheryl Dyer No Party
Naomi Houston, Democrat
Charlene Lewis, Republican
Evelyn Parish, Democrat
“Don” Shirley, Other
Toby Sinclair, Democrat
Thomas Smith, Democrat

Aldermen, Town of Cullen
Barbara Green, Democrat
Ray Mills, Democrat
Fannie Rankin, Democrat
Bridget Salsberry, No Party Withdrew
Carolyn Sullivan, Other
Doris L. White, Democrat
Floydean White, Democrat

Aldermen, Town of Sarepta
Michael A. Corley, Republican
Melanie Dean, Republican
Patty Fain, No Party
Kenneth Ivy, No Party
David Neal, No Party
Madison Claire Tyler, Republican
Heath Warford, Republican

Aldermen, Village of Dixie Inn
“Nell” Finlay, Republican
Donna Hoffoss, Republican
Judy McKenzie, Republican
Connie Woods, Republican

Related Posts