Tuesday, May 21, 2024
Home » Hallmark-Stratton takes Dixie Inn mayor’s seat by one vote

Hallmark-Stratton takes Dixie Inn mayor’s seat by one vote

by Minden Press-Herald

DIXIE INN – The Village of Dixie Inn will have a new mayor in January.

Kay Hallmark-Stratton won the mayor’s seat by one vote. She said she’s ready to transition into the position. She’s also humbled that the people elected her.

“I’m so proud that people think that much of me to elect me,” she said. “I’ve been an alderman for 10 years, and I’ve lived here since 1976.”

Her number one goal while in office is to try to educate the new aldermen and get them on track with what’s going on in the village.

“It’s like a business,” she said. “Things are happening every day out here, and things don’t stop with one mayor. They continue on with the next mayor and city council members. There are some things I’d like to see accomplished.”

One of those things is making sure she and the aldermen are up-to-date on their ethics training and educating them on village business.

Ava Nell McWhorter said she hasn’t thought much beyond the election but will accept the results as they stand.

“I’ll continue to live in Dixie Inn and do all I can to help in any way I can to make it a better place to live,” she said.

McWhorter has served four terms, or 16 years, as the village’s mayor and has accomplished much. Citing the renovations of the water and sewer plants and the beautification of Dixie Inn, she said she is proud of what’s been done.

Dixie Inn has won the distinguished Cleanest Village award and McWhorter said she owes that in part to the Webster Parish Sheriff’s Office. WPSO offers its inmates to help clean up the village’s highways.

“It’s a good public service and program through the sheriff’s office,” McWhorter said. “It’s the best thing we’ve ever done.”

Hallmark-Stratton praised McWhorter on her years of service as mayor.

“McWhorter has been a good mayor and she was a good alderman,” Stratton said.


In the aldermen’s race, three aldermen have been elected. Two will head to a runoff: Incumbent Connie E. Woods and Nell Finley. Each received 38 votes.

Donna Hoffoss received 49 votes or 28 percent, and Judy McKenzie received 48 votes.

Incumbent Pauline Fontenot did not run, and one will take Stratton’s seat.

Related Posts