Home » Plenty of action from this week’s city league games

Plenty of action from this week’s city league games

by Minden Press-Herald

There was a pair of high-scoring city league football games played last Thursday, at the Minden Recreation Complex.

Here are how the Thursday night contests played out:

Marcus Patillo Punishers vs. Dawgs

The Marcus Patillo Punishers defeated the Dawgs, 26-19, in a close game that came down to the wire.

Leading the way for the victorious Patillo Punishers was Aldravion Taylor with 152 yards and a touchdown and two-point conversion. Travion Sanders had a big game for the Punishers as well rushing for 128 yards and Kavion Hill was on fire, going for 126 yards and a pair of touchdowns. Kentravion Lister added 46 yards and Shamar Crow had 67 yards and a touchdown.

Defensive leaders for the Punishers were James T. Lynch and Daiquiri Powell.

The Dawgs got a great game from both Skylar Butler and D’angelo Garner. Butler ran for 138 yards and two touchdowns for the Dawgs and Garner added 139 yards and a touchdown. Grady Brasher added 12 yards and a extra point and Andrew Cooper ran for seven yards.

Defensive leaders for the Dawgs were Cameron Combs and Chance Hammonds.

Lil’ Tiders vs. Minden Athletic

The Lil’ Tiders put on a dominant display in the second game, defeating Minden Athletic 52-0.

Justin Richardson Jr., had an absolutely spectacular game for the Lil’ Tiders, going for 263 yards and five touchdowns. Tristen Murry was next for the Lil’ Tiders with 31 yards and two scores, followed by Je’Dyah Taylor with 73 yards and a two-point conversion. Cartez Alexander Jr., pitched in with 30 yards, a touchdown and an extra point run.

Defensive leaders for the Lil’ Tiders were Kristopher Redden, Shane Siah, Tristen Murry and Jake Wilkins.

Minden Athletic was led by Jakobe Greenard with 73 yards rushing, followed by Ja’Vonte Morris with 18 yards and Darryl Thomas with 10. Zyan Stanley and Jaquez Jackson both added nine yards.

Defensive leaders for Minden Athletic were Dylan Cate, Darryl Thomas, Jaquez Jackson and Ja’Vonte Morris.

Related Posts