Home » Police jurors, governor top ballot

Police jurors, governor top ballot

by Minden Press-Herald

Saturday is the chance for voters to have their say in who Louisiana’s next governor will be as well as other statewide and local offices.

Also on the ballot will be four constitutional amendments as well as one parish-wide tax renewal proposition for the Webster Parish School Board. Saturday’s ballot includes:


Police Juror, District 4: “Bruce” Compton and Randy Thomas

Police Juror, District 5: Bernard Hudson and Perry Kirkland

Police Juror, District 6: “Jim” Bonsall and Ronald Douglas Sale

Police Juror, District 8: Nicholas “Nick” Cox and Harper Edwards

Police Juror, District 9: Beverly “Debbie” Kennon and Jerri M. Lee

Police Juror, District 12: George Fuller, Bryan Langford, Dustin Moseley and Rebecca Shelley-Sherrard

WPSB Tax Renewal Proposition

Vote YES or NO

“Shall the Webster Parish School District, Parish of Webster, Louisiana (the “District”), continue to levy and collect a special tax of two and eighty-two hundredths (2.82) mills on all property subject to taxation in the District (an estimated $729,400 reasonably expected at this time to be collected from the levy of the tax for an entire year), for a period of ten (10) years, beginning with the year 2016 and ending with the year 2025, for the purpose of giving additional support to public schools in the Parish of Webster, including acquiring, constructing, improving, maintaining or operating the public school system of the District?”


Governor: Scott Angelle, Beryl Billiot, “Jay” Dardenne, Cary Deaton, John Bel Edwards, Jeremy “JW” Odom, Eric Paul Orgeron, S.L. Simpson and David Vitter.

Lieutenant Governor: Elbert Lee Guillory, Melvin L. “Kip” Holden, “Billy” Nungesser and John Young.

Secretary of State: “Tom” Schedler and “Chris” Tyson.

Attorney General: Geraldine “Geri” Broussard Baloney, James D. “Buddy” Caldwell, Isaac “Ike” Jackson, “Jeff” Landry and “Marty” Maley.

Treasurer: John Kennedy and Jennifer Treadway

Commissioner of Agriculture and Forestry: “Charlie” Greer, Adrian “Ace” Juttner, Jamie LeBranche and Michael G. “Mike” Strain.

Commissioner of Insurance: “Jim” Donelon, Donald Hodge Jr., Charlotte C. McDaniel McGehee and Matt Parker.

BESE District 4: Tony Davis, Mary Johnson Harris and Glynis Johnston.

State Senator, 36th Senatorial District: Henry Burns, Ryan Gatti and Todd Hollenshead.

Constitutional Amendments

Vote YES or NO

No. 1: Act 473, SB 202, Budget and Transportation Stabilization Trust

“Do you support an amendment to rename the Budget Stabilization Fund to the Budget and Transportation Stabilization Trust; to authorize the mineral revenue base to be increased every five years; to create the Budget Stabilization Subfund as a subfund in the Trust, to be funded with mineral revenues until reaching a maximum balance of five hundred million dollars, to be appropriated and used when the state has a deficit; to create the Transportation Stabilization Subfund as a subfund in the Trust, to be funded with mineral revenues until reaching a maximum balance of five hundred million dollars, to be appropriated and used for planning, design, construction, and maintenance connected with the state highway program, with twenty percent dedicated for use by the Louisiana Intermodal Connector Program; and to provide for the interruption of deposits into the Budget Stabilization Subfund and the Transportation Trust Subfund the year that the state has a deficit and the following year with the resumption of deposit of mineral revenues in the Budget and Transportation Stabilization Trust thereafter?”

A vote for would steer state mineral revenue to a new transportation projects fund and restructure the Budget Stabilization Fund.

A vote against would leave the current revenue flow and Budget Stabilization Fund intact.

No. 2: Act 471, HB 618, Funds for Transportation

“Do you support an amendment to authorize the investment of funds for a state infrastructure bank to be used solely for transportation projects?”

A vote for would allow the treasurer to invest public funds in a state infrastructure bank.

A vote against would require the newly created infrastructure bank to rely on other financing.

No. 3: Act 472, HB 518, Fiscal Legislative Session

“Do you support an amendment to allow any legislation regarding the dedication of revenue, rebates and taxes to be considered during a fiscal legislative session?”

A vote for would broadly define what kind of tax and revenue bills can be filed in a legislative fiscal session.

A vote against would leave in place the specific list of allowable tax legislation for fiscal sessions.

No. 4: Act 470, HB 360, Property Tax Exemption for Public Land/Property

“Do you support an amendment to specify that the ad valorem property tax exemption for public lands and other public property shall not apply to land or property owned by another state or a political subdivision of another state?”

A vote for would require states or local governments outside of Louisiana to pay taxes on properties they owe in Louisiana.

A vote against would leave the question to the courts, which recently ruled that state or local governments outside Louisiana are exempt from property tax.

Polls open at 7 a.m. and close at 8 p.m. Saturday.

Related Posts