Road District A tax passes, Road District B tax fails

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Voters in south Webster Parish said yes to a 2.65-mill tax renewal for 10 years for Road District A while voters in the north end said no to 3.92-mill tax renewal for Road District B.

The funds generated from the tax are dedicated for roads and bridges and drainage throughout the parish.

“We use this money to help supplement the money we get from the state through our transportation fund, which has been declining,” police jury president Jim Bonsall said. “This money is strictly used for maintaining our roads in the parish.”

The Road District A tax is expected to generate $437,250 a year while an estimated $454,720 a year would have been generated for Road District B and can not be spent outside the district.

Road District A goes up north of Dixie Inn, south of Cotton Valley, includes Minden, Dixie Inn, Sibley, Dubberly and Heflin. Road District B includes areas north of the Couchwood area and includes Springhill, Cullen, Cotton Valley, Sarepta and Shongaloo.

“We can’t maintain the whole parish with these funds,” Bonsall said. “Without it, it will be very hard to keep providing the services that we have been.”

Bonsall said the jury plans to bring the Road District B tax renewal back before voters next year.


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
On Key

Related News

A New Office for District 36

State Senator Robert Mills opened a new office behind Northwest Louisiana Technical College just before the pandemic hit in 2020. Unfortunately, due to the restrictions

Students of the Year 2022

The Webster Parish School Board has announced the Webster Parish Students of the Year for 2022. The outstanding students chosen were Presley Wood of E.S.