Home » AR students awarded for reading

AR students awarded for reading

by Minden Press-Herald

Students in the Accelerated Reading program were awarded at Tuesday’s board meeting with a certificate and a reward.

Charlotte Dean, with the Webster Parish School Board, in conjunction with the librarians of each school, presented students with their rewards.

Each winner from each school received $50 in cash. If they won their division, they got an additional $100 in cash. Those winners also received an additional surprise in the form of a $25 Amazon gift card.

“It’s my honor to get to recognize the top accelerated readers in Webster Parish,” she said. “The more difficult the book, the higher points they get for the book. There are usually five questions on each computerized test that they take, but with the more complicated books, they might have 10. But they only get points for the ones they got correct.”

North Webster schools came away with the highest percentage of readers as well. North Webster High School had the highest percentage of readers according to the number of readers they have in the high school category, with 27.25 percent.

North Webster Junior High School had the highest percent in the junior high category with 48.60 percent and North Webster Upper Elementary School took the elementary division 52.51 percent.

North Webster Upper Elementary also took the title of the highest percentage in the parish, she says.

Elementary winners include: Katie Green of Browning Elementary with 207.2 points, Kaliyah West of Harper Elementary with 220.1 points, Maverick Harper of North Webster Lower Elementary with 260.5, Vinh Pham of Central Elementary School with 269.1 points, Abigail Spencer of J.L. Jones with 293.1 points, Sydni Richardson of North Webster Upper Elementary with 366.1 points, Michaela Marcantel of Doyline Elementary with 403.9 points and Alex Burleson of Brown Elementary with 405.5 points.

The elementary division winner was Elisa Rayne West with 616.5 points. She is a student at E.S. Richardson Elementary.

Middle School winners include: Jedidiah Walker of Lakeside Junior High with 190.4 points, Shadie Hillman of Doyline with 505.1 points, Maiya Hemphill of North Webster Junior High with 551.7 points, Matthew Seales of Central with 606.1 points and Emma Greer of Phillips Middle School with 757.5 points.

The middle school division winner was Jolie Perot with 1,008.1 points. She is a student at Webster Junior School.

High School winners include: Faith Noe of Doyline High School with 290.6 points, John Devillier of Lakeside with 480.9 points and Armonis Crockett of North Webster High School with 611.9 points.

The high school division winner was Quandreka Richardson with 850.8 points. She is a student at Minden High School.

Related Posts