Home » Springhill mayor takes rein as LMA president

Springhill mayor takes rein as LMA president

by Associated Press

Lafayette – Springhill mayor Carroll Breaux was installed as president of the Louisiana Municipal Association Saturday, at the Louisiana Municipal Association’s 78th Annual Convention at the Lafayette Cajundome. Breaux formerly was vice president.

Mayor Breaux succeeds David Camardelle, mayor of Grand Isle, as the LMA’s highest ranking officer. As president, he will serve as the Association’s leading official advocating for the villages, towns, and cities in Louisiana during the 2015-2016 year. Additionally, he will serve as the head of the Louisiana Municipal Association Executive Board, and chair of the Louisiana Municipal Association Executive Committee.

Mayor Breaux started his own plumbing business at the age of 19. He started his public service at the City of Springhill in 1990 and served four terms as an alderman. In 2006, he was elected mayor. He was successful in his re-election in 2010, winning with 88 percent of the vote.

In this last election, he was unopposed and is now serving his third term of office.

In 2008, Mayor Breaux was elected and served for five years as District “A” Vice President. He was appointed to the LMA Executive Committee and he has been elected in leadership positions for the past two years.

As the mayor of the City of Springhill, he has overseen water infrastructure improvements totaling over $16 million, including a USDA Grant of $2.5 million. Just this past year, he has worked with members of the North Webster Industrial Park Board to bring a “State of the Art” manufacturing facility to North Webster Parish, IntegriCo.

He is working closely with IntegriCo to bring 300 jobs to Springhill and promote a recycling initiative to build railroad cross ties from recycled plastics.

Also installed Saturday night were Barney Arceneaux, mayor of Gonzales, LMA first vice president and Lawrence Henagan, mayor of DeQuincy, LMA second vice president. In addition, 10 district vice presidents who will serve on LMA’s Executive Board in 2015-2016 were introduced:

District “A” – Mayor Jimmy Williams, Sibley
District “B” – Mayor Eugene Smith, Arcadia
District “C” – Mayor Harry Lewis, Rayville
District “D” – Mayor Ken Freeman, Many
District “E” – Councilman Nathan Martin, Pineville
District “F” – Mayor Purvis Morrison, Scott
District “G” – Mayor Greg Jones, Crowley
District “H” – Mayor Harold Rideau, Baker
District “I” – Mayor Donald Villere, Mandeville
District “J” – Mayor Joey Bouziga, Golden Meadow

Related Posts