Saturday, May 25, 2024
Home ยป Warriors host 28th Lakeside Memorial Relays

Warriors host 28th Lakeside Memorial Relays

by Minden Press-Herald

Outstanding times and distances highlighted the 28th Edition of the Lakeside Warrior Memorial Relays. Ten teams battled for team championships in the girls’ and boys’ divisions. Taking the girls’ title was the Natchitoches Central Chiefs paced by the meet’s outstanding runner, Anna Coffey. They boys’ title went to Haynesville in a tight competition with North Webster and Natchitoches Central.

Alissa Lander once again paced the Lady Warriors by placing second in the 800 with a personal best of 2:29.86 and second in the 1600 with a personal best of 5:33.75. In the 3200 Angelina Futch had a fourth place finish at a personal best 14:20.74. The Lakeside 400 relay made up of Kyzhane Esparza, Quenta Grigsby, Gerlia Fields, and Jhasmine Lewis took sixth at 55.05. Two second place finishes in the field by Jhasmine Lewis in the high jump at 4′ 10″ and Kelly Willis in the javelin at 100′ 8″ completed the Lady Warriors scoring.

The Minden Lady Tiders picked up two fourth place finishes and two sixth. Katie Walker placed fourth in the discus at 77′ 9″ while the 400 relay comprised of Enena McCoy, Lemonica Smith, Tinaja Rice, and McKayla Bailey were fourth at 53.36. These fourth ladies also made up the 800 relay which finished fifth at 1:54.62. Bailey also placed sixth int he long jump with a leap of 15′ 0″. Shania Frelon finished sixth in the 400 at 1:11.37.

The boys’ division featured an outstanding 3200 meter run where four competitors broke the 10 minute mark. St. Mary’s Scott Maggio using a furious kick won the race at 9:49.80 with Eric Greene of Lakeside running a personal best of 9:52.93 finished second and Lakeside’s Cody Robinson was third with a personal best of 9:54.27.

Greene and Robinson became the third and fourth Warriors to run under 10 minutes, joining former Warriors Enrique Soto and Zach Levesque. Earlier in the meet Robinson ran a personal best 4:43.05 for third int he 1600 while Green Ran a personal best of 2:10.34 for fourth int he 800. Johnathon Jones placed third in the 300 hurdles at 48.35.

In the sprints Damien Coleman took sixth in the 100 at 11.76 and Mike Bradford was sixth int he 200 at 24.44. Howard Roberts raced to sixth int he 400 at 56.23. The 400 relay of Damien Coleman, Tyreke Lofton, Daveyun Soloman, and Mike Bradford took sixth in the 400 relay at 46.15. In the 800 eighth grader Jorge Servin placed sixth with a personal best of 2:22.10. Zach Zaldivar won the only individual Lakeside title by hurling the javelin 138′ 10″. A personal best 43′ 1″ gave Jordan Richard a third place finish in the shot. In the pole vault Adam Petty took third at 9′ 0″ and Hayden Finley was sixth at 9′ 0″. Djimon Lard had a personal best throw of 116′ 7″ for fourth in the discus. Damien Coleman jumped a personal best of 20′ 3″ for fifth in the long jump. Tyreke Lofton went 5′ 4″ in the high jump for fifth place.

The Minden boys were paced by the 400 relay of Leo McCarter, Patrick Heard, Dekeltric Frelon, and McKelric Johnson with a second place at 44.05. The 1600 relay of Marcus Smith, Cole Dollar, Josh Simms, and Demarcus Hamilton took fourth at 3:44.40. The Tide also scored points int he 110 hurdles as Jecorean Lathan was fourth at 19.55. In the 300 hurdles Josh Manning was fourth at 49.32.

Next action for Minden and Lakeside will be the Haughton Relays on Thursday, April 14. This will be the last regular season meet before district.

Related Posts