Home » Webster Parish Police Jury to talk parcel fees at Tuesday meeting

Webster Parish Police Jury to talk parcel fees at Tuesday meeting

by Minden Press-Herald

The Webster Parish Police Jury will go through a light agenda Tuesday when it meets for its monthly meeting.

At the top of the list will be the consideration of a resolution calling for an election on Dec. 10, in the Springhill Fire Protection District #11 for the authorization to levy a parcel fee.
If passed in December, citizens of the Springhill FPD #11 will pay a parcel fee of $96 on each lot annually for a period of 10 years.

The purpose of the proposition is to generate funding for “acquiring, constructing, maintaining and operating fire protection facilities and equipment for the district, including the cost of obtaining water for fire protection purposes and salaries of firemen.”

In other news, the jury will consider a resolution designating signature authority for the Louisiana Development Block Grant for water improvements.

The jury will also consider setting a public hearing for Tuesday, Aug. 2, for the levy of the 2016 millage rates. Officials say it will not be necessary to roll forward this year.
Also up for consideration is a beer permit for Two Jacks Casino as it has changed ownership.

Committee meetings will begin at 9 a.m., with the road committee considering:

a weight limit on Shadows Lane to five tons,

discussion on equipment,

a resolution to fill potholes on streets in Sibley,

a resolution to asphalt over the new culvert at the corner of SE 4th and SE Natchitoches,  using municipality funding,

a discussion regarding a resolution for Doyline to repair a sinkhole on a cross drain culvert at North Strong Street to the main drainage ditch,

and discussion of swapping a right-of-way with the Louisiana Department of Transportation and Development – a part of Goodwill Road and Old Highway 80 Parish Road 1108.

The police jury will meet at 10:30 a.m., in the meeting room on the second floor of the Webster Parish Courthouse. The committee meetings will be in the police jury offices on the third floor of the courthouse.

Related Posts