Home » WPSO joins committee to award deputies injured in the line of duty

WPSO joins committee to award deputies injured in the line of duty

by Minden Press-Herald

The Louisiana Sheriffs’ Association proudly announces the creation of an annual award for sheriffs or deputies who are injured in the line of duty.

The award was inspired by the late Union Parish Sheriff, Bob Buckley. While Buckley served as president of the Louisiana Sheriffs’ Association (2012-2013), he made it his mission to “Do More” for Louisiana’s sheriffs and deputies. In that vein, the Louisiana Sheriffs’ Association is honored to continue his legacy with the creation of this annual award.

Permanent Committee members are: Chairman, Sheriff Steven McCain, Grant Parish; Sheriff Julian Whittington, Bossier Parish; Sheriff Leland Falcon, Assumption Parish; Sheriff Blaise Smith, St. Mary Parish; Sheriff Brian Spillman, West Feliciana Parish; Sheriff Mark Wood, Rapides Parish; Sheriff Jason Parker, Webster Parish; Sheriff Clay Bennett, Caldwell Parish, and Sheriff Sammie Byrd, Madison Parish.

Nominations may be submitted from all 64 sheriff’s offices throughout the state. The committee plans to review their first set of nominations in March, and to honor their inaugural winner(s) this summer at the association’s annual conference.

This will be the first time that the Louisiana Sheriffs’ Association has ever given an award to deputies and sheriffs who are injured in the line of duty.

The Louisiana Sheriffs’ Association is a bipartisan organization, composed of Louisiana’s 64 sheriffs and nearly 14,000 deputy sheriffs, established to represent Louisiana’s chief law enforcement officers across the state. The Association’s purpose is to maintain the constitutional authority of the sheriff as chief law enforcement officer, ensure the delivery of first-rate services, and to sponsor legislation that promotes the administration of criminal justice.

Related Posts