Home Life Northwestern State Pom Line, NSU Cheer win first place at camps

Northwestern State Pom Line, NSU Cheer win first place at camps

by Minden Press-Herald

Minden’s Darian Mitchell a member of cheer squad

NATCHITOCHES – Northwestern State University’s Purple Pizzazz Pom Line and NSU Cheer each won first place honors in camps held at Texas A&M University.

The Pom Line won first place at Universal Dance Association Camp for its Home Routine in Division I. The routine was learned prior to camp and was choreographed by former Saintsation Jesse Hernandez.

            NSU Cheer placed first for its Timeout Routine at the Universal Cheer Association Camp.

            The Pom Line earned superior ratings in the Game Day category and an overall Superior Team rating as each team member received a blue ribbon for their individual performances.

            Pom Line Director Katerina Haymon said this may have been the first time the Pom Line has attended a camp away from the Northwestern State campus. She said the ensemble learned more than 10 new routines. NSU’s first place routine is available at https://tv.varsity.com/articles/7105911-5-must-see-uda-college-camp-home-routines.

            NSU Cheer won second place for Overall Game Day and third place for Sideline. NSU Cheer Head Coach Amy Stepp said the squad learned several new stunts, formations and cheers they will use this year.

            A total of 10 dance teams and 10 cheer squads from universities and community colleges took part in the camps.

            Mary-Katherine Horton is assistant director of the Pom Line. Tre Jackson is assistant coach of NSU Cheer.

            Members of the Pom Line are: Makynli Delcambre of New Iberia, Kelsy Elkins of Natchitoches, Brooklyn Guerra of Abbeville, Mariah Kador of Oscar, Mi’kya Lollie of Bastrop, Hayden Thompson of Winnfield and Ragan Rounds of Shreveport.

Members of NSU Cheer are: Jessi Lucky, Abby Williams and Izzy Peluso of Natchitoches, Morgan VanBuren and Aaron Dotson of Pineville,  Carson Sanders and Gavin Acor of Bossier City,  Tobias Jones and Paige Pruett of Haughton, Emerson Rodrigue of Port-au-Prince, Haiti, Darian Mitchell of Minden,  Daniel Wellmeier of New Orleans,  Gabe Vargas of Leesville,  Meghan Bercegeay and Dre’lan Evans of Baton Rouge,  Presley Stewart of Florien,  Annalise Sylvia of Many,  Joshua Graham of Saline and Elise Vidrine of Pierre Part.

Related Posts