Political forum to be held tonight

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Minden citizens will have a chance to meet the candidates for U.S. Senator, U. S. Representative for the 4th Congressional District that will appear on the Nov. 8 ballot.

The Minden Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority and the Webster United Minority Voters League will host its traditional “Meet and Hear the Candidates Forum” Thursday at 6:30 p.m. The meeting will be held at St. Rest Baptist Church, located at 611 East Union St.

Yolanda Coleman, Social Action Chairwoman for the sorority, said all candidates have been invited to attend and the public will be given the opportunity to ask questions and seek information.

“We do these forums before elections,” Coleman said. “The candidates will give a presentation and then answer questions from the audience in a less formal setting.”

Twenty-four people have filed to replace Republican David Vitter’s U.S. Senate, which choose not to run for re-election. It’s the most crowded field since the secretary of state’s office began keeping electronic records in 1982.

Competing for the seat are Beryl Billiot, Charles Boustany, Foster Campbell, “Joseph” Cao, Thomas P. Clements, Donald “Crawdaddy” Crawford, David Duke, Derrick Edwards, Caroline Fayard, John Fleming, Le Roy Gillam, Troy Hebert, John Kennedy, Gary Landrieu, William Robert “Bob” Lang Jr., “Rob” Maness, Kaitlin Marone, Charles Marsala, MV “Vinny” Mendoza, Abhay Patel, Joshua Pellerin, Gregory Taylor Jr., Arden Wells and Peter Williams.
Eight men are vying for the U. S. Representative for the 4th Congressional District seat, currently held by Republican John Fleming.

Those candidates include Ralph “Trey” Baucum, Elbert Guillory, Mark David Halverson, Oliver Jenkins, “Rick” John, “Mike” Johnson, Marshall Jones and Kenneth J. Krefft.

The 4th Congressional District covers the northwestern part of the state.
In the Court of Appeal second Circuit race, Jay Caraway and “Jeff” Cox are seeking the seat for the Division C Judge.

If no candidate garners enough votes Nov. 8, a runoff will be held Dec. 10.


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
On Key

Related News

A New Office for District 36

State Senator Robert Mills opened a new office behind Northwest Louisiana Technical College just before the pandemic hit in 2020. Unfortunately, due to the restrictions

Students of the Year 2022

The Webster Parish School Board has announced the Webster Parish Students of the Year for 2022. The outstanding students chosen were Presley Wood of E.S.